
T h e  Cr i m e  Vi c t i m s  Se r v i c e s  B ur e a u  o f  t he  
D e p ar t me n t  o f  P u b l i c  S a fe t y a n d  C o r r e c t i o ns  
e n c o ur a g es  c r i m e  v i c t i ms  a n d  o t h er s  d i r ec t l y  
a f fe c te d  b y a  c r i m e  t o  r e g i s t e r  f o r  n o t i ce  a b o u t  t h e   
o f f e n d er  w ho  h a r m e d t he m ..   
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How do I register? 

Persons wishing to register for notification may contact the Crime Victims Services Bureau toll free at 

888-342-6110 or download a registration form at www.doc.la.gov or contact their District Attorney’s 

office.       Registering with the Louisiana Automated Victim Notification System (LAVNS) is NOT                

sufficient to ensure notice from the Department. 

What will I be notified about? 

If a criminal offender is sentenced “at hard labor,” he or she is under the Department’s authority, and 

the Department will notify the registered person in writing about the following: 

 Initial housing location and projected release dates 

 Release from incarceration by any means, including death 

 Sentence change due to court action 

 Assignment to work transition program 

 Escape from institutional custody and apprehension 

 

The Department works with the Committee on Parole and the Board of Pardons to provide registered 

victims notice of parole and pardon hearings. 

The Crime Victims Services Bureau can also provide information about  Victim-Offender Dialogue, 

the Department’s policies and practices, the accountability letter project, and other agencies and       

organizations that assist crime victims.  

Registered victims may request a current photo three months before an offender’s possible release. 

What will I NOT be notified about? 

 Transfer between institutions  

 Return to prison for violation of release conditions 

 Information about pending appeals  

 Change in diminution of sentence date 

Where does the Division of  

Probation and Parole (P & P) fit in? 

Officers of the Division’s 21 district offices 

supervise offenders released on parole and 

diminution of sentence and those placed on 

felony probation. Officers supervise pay-

ment of restitution and prepare reports for 

the Courts and the Parole and Pardon 

Boards.  Those reports include victims’ atti-

tudes about the possibility of release and 

information about their financial losses re-

sulting from the crime.   

Officers notify victims about up-coming   

parole hearings.   

Officers have the authority to arrest proba-

tioners and parolees with or without a war-

rant.  They can recommend revocation 

(return to prison). 

 Offenders released from incarceration to 

supervision have 48 hours to report to a 

P & P district office. 

 Persons on supervision  must have per-

mission to leave the boundaries of the 

supervising district. 

One way for victims to ensure that Proba-

tion and Parole officers can contact them 

about hearings and other important mat-

ters is to register and maintain a current 

mailing address and telephone number 

with the Crime Victims Services Bureau. 

This document is published at a total cost of $80.00.  500 copies 

of this public document were published in this tenth printing at a 

cost of $80.00.  This document was published by the Louisiana 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Ser-

vices, P. O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, La. 70804, under the au-

thority of La. R.S. 43:31, to provide information for crime victims 

and others concerned about an offender’s confinement and   

possible release.                                                                      

Please direct inquiries to Gayle Cothell at 225-342-1056.         
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Can the Board of Pardons influence an 

offender’s release? 

The Board of Pardons handles offender re-

quests for clemency—that is, for pardon, com-

mutation, and restoration of rights lost as a 

result of a criminal conviction.   The board 

holds public hearings to consider offender re-

quests for clemency.  

The State’s Constitution creates access to the 

Board of Pardons.  A court cannot make an 

offender ineligible for consideration.  State 

statutes do impose restrictions on how soon 

after sentencing offenders with life sentences 

may apply for commutation. 

Law requires that notice to victims and other 

persons and agencies be mailed 30 days before 

an offender’s hearing. 

Clemency requests approved by the board are 

sent to the Governor, who makes the final de-

cision to grant or deny the board’s recommen-

dations. 

Tell me about commutation and life 

sentences. 

Commutation is the only non-judicial means 

by which a life sentence can be changed to a 

specified number of years.  

 

La. RS. 14:2(B) lists the following as crimes 

of violence: 

Offenders can also be released by court 

order or at full term or on good time 

without supervision. Also, non-violent 

offenders who have served 10 years of 

their imposed sentence and reached 

age 65 can be released..  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Most offenders are released by parole 

or diminution of sentence and continue 

to serve their sentences under supervi-

sion until their “full term date,” the date 

on which the full term imposed by the 

court is served. 

What is Diminution of Sentence? 

Diminution of sentence release is  release from pris-

on based on laws that allow offenders to earn credit 

for positive actions while in prison. The more famil-

iar term is “good time.”   

There is no hearing for diminution of sentence re-

lease. 

Aggravated arson 

Aggravated assault 

Aggravated assault upon a 
peace officer with a firearm 

Aggravated assault         
with a firearm 

Aggravated battery 

Aggravated burglary 

Aggravated crime      
against nature 

Aggravated criminal      
damage to property 

Aggravated flight            
from an officer 

Aggravated incest 

Aggravated kidnapping 

Aggravated rape 

Aggravated second        
degree battery 

Armed robbery 

Armed robbery; use of   
firearm: additional penalty 

Assault by drive-by shooting 

Battery of a police officer       

Carjacking 

Disarming of a peace officer  

Extortion 

First degree murder 

First degree robbery 

Forcible rape 

Home invasion 

Human trafficking 

Illegal use of weapons or  
dangerous                    

instrumentalities 

Intentional exposure to 
AIDS virus 

Manslaughter 

Mingling harmful          
substances 

Purse snatching 

Second degree battery 

Second degree cruelty     
to juveniles 

Second degree kidnapping 

Second degree murder 

Second degree robbery 

Second degree sexual 
battery 

Sexual battery 

Simple kidnapping 

Simple rape 

Simple robbery 

Solicitation for murder 

Stalking 

Terrorism 

Trafficking of children     
for sexual purposes 

 
The attempt to commit one of these crimes 

qualifies as a crime of violence.   

Law allows a court to designate  other 

crimes of violence. 

 
After regular business hours, callers 

can leave a message on the  

toll free CVSB telephone line  

(888) 342-6110  

Someone will return the call on the 

next  business day.  

What is Parole? 

Parole is release from prison by action of the 

Committee on Parole.  Offenders cannot be re-

leased on parole without a parole hearing. 

Law and policy require that notice be mailed to 

victims and certain other persons at least 30 

days before a hearing date. 

Parole Hearings are usually held about 6 months 

before an inmate’s parole eligibility date.  

 Most offenders sentenced to life in prison cannot be 

paroled or released on good time unless their sen-

tences are commuted. A few exceptions to this rule 

have been enacted. (See section re: Board of Par-

dons—next page.) 

 Offenders sentenced to any number of years for a 

“crime of violence” (COV) committed on or after 

January 1, 1997, must serve proportionally more of 

their time in institutional custody before being re-

leased to supervision. If they are eligible to earn 

“good time,” successful participation in approved 

rehabilitation/treatment programs can reduce custo-

dy time by an additional 8 months.  

 Armed robbers sentenced after 2008 generally can-

not be paroled; they can, however, earn diminution 

of sentence. 

 Many sex offenders cannot earn diminution of sen-

tence but have the possibility of parole. Parole eligi-

bility is governed by LA RS. 15:574.4 

Parole and diminution of sentence are conditional 

releases. Before being released, offenders must agree 

to follow a list of conditions. Failure to follow those 

conditions will result in sanctions, including possible 

return to prison.  

Almost every year new laws affecting re-
lease options are passed. Some of the 
laws that apply most broadly are outlined 
below. 

What  is an Accountability Letter? 

An accountability is a  letter written by an offender to 

the victim(s) of the crime(s) for which the offender has 

been sentenced accepting responsibility for the crime, 

acknowledging the harm caused to the victim   and ex-

pressing regret for that harm. 

What is Victim-Offender Dialogue (VOD)? 

Victim-Offender Dialogue (VOD) is a series of facilitat-

ed communication between victims and offenders, con-

ducted in safe and secure conditions, where parties can 

express their feelings and needs, talk about issues related 

to the harm caused by crime, and possibly have a face-to 

face meeting with the person who committed the crime. 


