Louisiana Board of Pardons

Meeting Minutes

Date: Monday, August 05, 2024	Recorded by: <u>Jasmine Thompson</u>
1. Call to Order	

2. Roll Call

A roll call was made with ${f 4}$ members, and a quorum was declared.				
☐ Chair – Sheryl Ranatza	☑ Pete Fremin			
☑ Vice Chair – Steve Prator	☑ Chucky Tillis			
⊠ Carolyn Stapleton				
Staff members present:				

Jasmine Thompson Chiquita McQuirter Francis Abbott

Sharel Favorite Karla Williams ---

3. **Public Comment** was allowed on request before any action item.

The Chair called the meeting to order at **9:12 AM**.

- 4. Regular Business
 - a. The minutes from the June 3, 2024 meeting were reviewed.
 - i. <u>Mr. Fremin</u> made a motion, seconded by <u>Ms. Stapleton</u>, to accept the minutes without any corrections. Without objection, the motion passed unanimously.
 - b. Clemency/Pardon hearings: The Board of Pardons conducted **9** hearings.
- 5. Adjournment
 - a. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned on a motion by **Mr. Prator** at **2:45 PM**.

Chiquita McQuirter

Chiquita McQuirter, Administrative Program Manager

Louisiana Board of Pardons

Department of Public Safety & Corrections Headquarters Monday, August 05, 2024

1. Call to order/roll call at 9:12 AM.

By: Vice Chair Steve Prator

Board of Pardons Members	Present	Absent
Chair – Sheryl M. Ranatza		\boxtimes
Vice Chair – Steve Prator	\boxtimes	
Pete Fremin	\boxtimes	
Chucky Tillis	\boxtimes	
Carolyn Stapleton	\boxtimes	

EXECUTIVE SESSION(S)

Motion Made By:	Made By: Motion Seconded By: Time Out:		Time Returned:	
Pete Fremin Carolyn Stapleton		10:23 AM	10:28 AM	
Chucky Tillis Pete Fremin		1:24 PM	1:32 PM	

2. Regular Business

a. Approval of minutes from the June 3, 2024 meeting.

Approved by Mr. Fremin and seconded by Ms. Stapleton.

b. Pardon Docket

9 cases were heard.

3. Adjournment

Motion made by: Mr. Prator
Time adjourned: 2:45 PM

BOARD OF PARDONS

Meeting date:	8/5/24	
-		

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION:

I move that the board go into an executive session. The purpose of this is to discuss the information contained in the record of each case on the docket that is confidential and not subject to public disclosure.

Motion made by:	Pete	Fremin	
Seconded by:	Stapi	eton	

ROLL CALL VOTE:

YES	NO	
0	0	MRS. RANATZA
0	0	MR. FREMIN
0	0	MR. PRATOR
0	0	MR. TILLIS
0	0	MRS. STAPLETON

The motion is:

APPROVED

o o Time Out: 10:23am

REJECTED

Recording Secretary

BOARD OF PARDONS

Meeting date: 8/5/24
MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION:
move that the board go into an executive session. The purpose of this is to discuss the information contained in the record of each case on the docket that is confidential and not subject to public disclosure.
Motion made by:
Seconded by:
ROLL CALL VOTE:
YES NO
o o MRS. RANATZA
o MR. FREMIN
o MR. PRATOR
MR. TILLIS
o MRS. STAPLETON
The motion is:
APPROVED REJECTED
0
Time Out: 1.24Ph
Time Back: 1:32Pm

Recording Secretary

Board of Pardons & Committee on Parole State of Louisiana

JEFF M. LANDRY
GOVERNOR



SHERYL M. RANATZA
BOARD CHAIRMAN

PARDON HEARING DOCKET: August 5, 2024 – 9:00 AM

Hearing Location: Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections Headquarters 504 Mayflower Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 (225) 342-5422

Assigned	Applicant's Name	DOC#	Request/Location	JDC/Location	Offense	Vote
1.	RACCA, BRIAN P.	356068	PWF RELEASED	16 th JDC IBERIA	PWID Marijuana	Grant 4-0 PWF
2.	BURNS, HELEN ATTY: BECKI T. KONDKAR	387752	CTO LCIW	22 nd JDC ST. TAMMANY	Second Degree Murder	Deny 3-1
3.	JENKINS, SHELIA E. ATTY: EMMA L. DOUGLAS	420940	CTO LCIW	26 th JDC WEBSTER	Second Degree Murder; Distribution of Cocaine	CONTINUED
4.	MCGARY, RAYMOND ATTY: GRACE BRONSON	108940	CTO HCC	21 st JDC TANGIPAHOA	Second Degree Murder; Simple Robbery	Deny 1-3
5.	DEER, RALPH G., JR. ATTY: ADREAYNNE N. HUTCHISON	116508	CTO LSP	24 th JDC JEFFERSON	First Degree Murder	Deny 2-2
6.	GASPARD, SHAWN J. ATTY: KELSEY JENKINS	125280	CTO LSP	15 th JDC LAFAYETTE	First Degree Murder	Deny 2-2
7.	LEWIS, DAVID E.	85905	CTO LSP	22 nd JDC ST. TAMMANY	First Degree Murder; Attempted First Degree Murder; Armed Robbery	Deny 0-4
8.	PHARR, ALLEN D.	122731	CTO LSP	32 nd JDC TERREBONNE	Second Degree Murder	Deny 1-3
9.	TAYLOR, GEORGE E., JR. ATTY: MADREAYNNE N. HUTCHISON	94462	CTO LSP	12 th JDC AVOYELLES	2 Cts. – First Degree Murder; Attempted First Degree Murder; Armed Robbery	Deny 1-3
10.	THOMAS, BERNELL	98776	CTO LSP	32 nd JDC TERREBONNE	First Degree Murder; Second Degree Murder	Deny 1-3