On Friday, March 18, 2022, the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPS&C) will begin phasing in contact visitation visitation across its state-run prisons. Click here for more information.
Only the governor can grant the commutation of a sentence after a favorable recommendation from the Pardon Board. Learn more and apply for commutation of your sentence below.
In Louisiana, only the Governor can grant the commutation of a sentence after a favorable
recommendation from the Pardon Board. The submission of an application does not imply or guarantee that
the Pardon Board will favorably recommend a commutation and/or that the Governor will approve a
Commutation of Sentence. A person may not be considered for a commutation of sentence unless he or she
has been granted a hearing by the pardon board and has had his or her case placed upon a pardon board
Incarcerated Applicants or Applicants Under Supervision of the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections:
The Pardon Board utilizes a two-stage process for commutation review. The first stage is a Qualification
Review. During the Stage One - Qualification Review, the Pardon Board will conduct a review to determine
if the application has merit and should be passed to Stage Two -- Commutation Hearing -- for further
investigation and consideration for a sentence commutation. At Stage 1 the applicant does not appear
before the Board during its review of the application.
If the application is passed to Stage Two, the offender must provide the Board’s office proof of
advertisement within 90 days from the date of notice to grant a hearing. Advertisement must be published in the official journal of the parish where the offense occurred. The offender will be assessed a fee in the amount of $150.00 payable to the Department of Public Safety & Correctionsfor a clemency investigation to be conducted by the Division of Probation & Parole. After completion the investigation is complete and the case is docketed, the offender will make a personal appearance with the Pardon Board via video conferencing. If an offender receives a disciplinary write-up within 24 months of the date of the application and/or prior to the hearing, the personal appearance will be stricken, or cancelled, and the offender will be ineligible for consideration at the scheduled hearing.
The offender will be assessed a fee in the amount of $150.00 payable to the Department of Public Safety & Correctionsfor a clemency investigation to be conducted by the Division of Probation & Parole.
All letters of support must be received in the Board office within 30 days of the Board’s receipt of the
application. Letters may be typed or handwritten on one-side of the page only. Handwritten letters must be legible. Please do not use staples. Letters must include the offender's name and DPS&C number on top of each page and on the back of the envelope. Letters can also be uploaded to this digital form.
During Stage 2 of the process victims and/or victim's representatives, the judicial representative from the
court of conviction, a representative from the arresting law enforcement agency, and/or the District Attorney will be asked to comment on the offender’s application. They will also be invited to participate in the hearing process.
After the offender’s personal appearance, the Pardon Board will vote to either favorably recommend a
commutation and/or deny the request. If a favorable vote occurs, the commutation will be forwarded to the Governor. The Governor will approve or deny a commutation.
The applicant should take the following steps in completing the application.
Send the completed application to:
Louisiana Pardon Board
Post Office Box 94304
Baton Rouge, LA 70804,
Once a completed application is submitted, the commutation will be placed on the next available
docket for the Stage 1 Qualification Review. Depending on the date of receipt of the application, the next available docket may be thirty (30) or up to forty-five (45) days.
Each question must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately. Do not leave sections
blank. It is the applicant's responsibility to submit a complete application. The application will not be
processed until it is complete. If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified about the
missing information. Additional documentation that is relevant to the application may also be attached. The submission of any false information is grounds for immediate denial of the application.
For each marriage, include the name of spouse, the date and place of marriage, and if applicable the date and place of divorce.
Instructions: Complete a separate entry for EACH Louisiana conviction for which you are seeking a
I certify that all answers to the above questions and all statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and information. I understand that any intentional misstatement of material facts contained in this application may cause adverse action on my application for a commutation.
I understand that there is no appeal process upon denial of an application for commutation.
I understand that pursuant to Act 52 of the 2016 Legislative session, should my application advance to
Stage 2 of the process, I agree to pay an assessment fee of $150.00 to the Louisiana Department of Public
Safety & Corrections for a clemency investigation to be conducted by the Division of Probation &Parole.
I have read and understand the Commutation application instructions. By signing and submitting this
application, I understand and voluntarily accept the terms of the commutation if it is approved. In making
application for a commutation from the Governor of the State of Louisiana, I do solemnly swear that I will be a law-abiding citizen and that I take this obligation freely and without any mental reservation whatsoever.
Carefully read this authorization to release information, then complete and sign.
I authorize any duly accredited representative of the Louisiana Pardon and Parole Board and/or the Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections, to obtain any information relating to my activities from schools, residential management agents, employers, criminal justice agencies, retail business establishments, courts, or other sources of information. This information may include, but is not limited to, my academic, achievement, performance, attendance, and disciplinary; residential history, employment history, criminal history, including arrest, charges, conviction, and the pre-sentence investigation report, if any, medical, psychiatric/psychological and/or other, health care records; and financial, and credit information
I understand that, for financial or lending institutions, medical providers, and certain other sources of
information, a separate specific release may be needed (pursuant to their request or as may be required by law), and I may be contacted for such a release at a later date.
I further authorize the Louisiana Pardon and Parole Board and/or the Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections, or any other authorized state agency, to request criminal record information about me from criminal justice agencies for the purpose of determining my suitability for a commutation.
I authorize custodians of records and sources of information pertaining to me to release such information
upon request of any duly accredited representative of the Louisiana Pardon and Parole Board and/or the
Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections or any state agency authorized above regardless of any previous agreement to the contrary. I understand that the information released by records custodians and sources of information is for official use by the State of Louisiana only for the purposes of processing my application for a commutation, and may be re-disclosed by the State of Louisiana only as authorized by law.
Copies of this authorization that show my signature are as valid as the original release signed by me. This
authorization is valid for one (1) year from the date signed.