Find everything you need from locating an offender to visitation information.
Family and friends of offenders assigned to the custody of the Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections can locate the offender by calling the Offender Locator. Call 225-383-4580 to access the Offender Locator System 24 hours a day. Callers must have the offender’s DPS&C number or the offender’s name and date of birth to access housing assignment, address of the facility where the offender is located, a contact phone number and a projected release date (if applicable).
The system is updated every 24 hours and also includes information on offenders under probation or parole (community) supervision.
The Offender Locator System will only give information for DPS&C offenders, not pre-trial inmates or those individuals serving parish or municipal sentences.
Also available is LAVNS, Louisiana Automated Victim Notification System, an on-line resource provided by the Office of the Governor through the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal Justice.
Presently, LAVNS offers access to a state offender’s location 24-hour online or at 866-528-6748. Many local jurisdictions enable persons to use LAVNS for information regarding an offender’s current custody and case status, unless and until the offender is sentenced to the custody of the state.LAVNS Offender Locator
Inmates are forbidden from using social media or cell phones. If you know of an offender breaking this rule, please report them.
Report an Offender
If you know of a DPS&C offender who has recently established or currently maintains information on a social networking website or has obtained a cell phone while incarcerated, please report the offender’s name, assigned location, and the link to the offender’s page if possible.
What is a social networking site?
A social networking website is any internet-based website with the following capabilities:
What does the law say?
In 2011, the Louisiana Legislature enacted Revised Statute 14:405, which prohibits inmates from establishing an account on any internet-based social networking website. Specifically, it is unlawful for any offender who is incarcerated and who is sentenced to the legal custody of the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections, including those assigned to parish jails, to establish or maintain an account on any internet-based social networking website.
Sign up for emergency notifications to get notified about emergency situations, like prisoner escapes, as well as general information such as visitation cancellations via phone contact, text messages and/or emails.
Visitation with offenders committed to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections (DPS&C) is a privilege. Visitation may be restricted, denied or suspended if an offender and/or visitor does not follow the Department’s visitation rules. Prospective visitors may refer to Department Regulation C-02-008 for specific rules governing offender visitation. The regulation may also be obtained by requesting a copy from the facility. Items considered to be contraband, including any type of weapon, firearm or any other item detrimental to the security of the facility, are not allowed. Prohibited items and other personal possessions (wallet, purse, cash, etc.) must be left in the visitor’s locked vehicle for the duration of the visit. The following are rules that a visitor must follow in order to be allowed to visit with an offender.
1. Visiting List: In order to visit an offender, the visitor must be on the offender’s approved visiting list. The offender has been given information on how to add someone to their visiting list. If you are uncertain as to whether you are on the offender’s approved visiting list, please contact the offender you wish to visit. Do not call the facility for this information; it will not be provided over the phone.
2. Searches: All visitors, including minors, are subject to searches of their property, automobile and person. These searches shall be conducted by trained staff in a professional manner that minimizes indignity to the visitor while still accomplishing the objective of the search. Additionally, visitors shall be subject to additional searches using metal detectors and ion scanning equipment. Specially trained search dogs (K-9s) may be used as a part of the search process both prior to a visitor entering the visiting area and in the actual visiting room during visits. Any person refusing to be searched at any time shall not be permitted to enter the facility and a visit may be terminated if a visitor refuses to be searched, or if contraband or other prohibited property or items are found on the visitor or in the visitor’s property. If a visitor does not wish to be searched either by hand or by using other means, the visitor should not attempt to enter a DPS&C facility.
3. Registration: Visitors must register with staff prior to entering the visiting area.
4. Identification: All visitors who are 18 years old or older shall be required to show a picture identification each time they visit. The forms of identification accepted by the DPS&C are:
5. Children: Visitors under the age of 18 years of age must be accompanied by their parent or legal guardian at all times while on facility grounds. Children shall not be left alone at any time while on facility grounds. Parents or legal guardians shall be responsible for the behavior of their children and a visit may be terminated if the children become disruptive.
6. Dress standards: Visitors shall wear clothing that poses no threat to the security or maintenance of order at the facility. The following standards are to be met:
7. Items not permitted: Visitors shall not be permitted to possess or carry the following items into the visiting area: controlled substances, alcoholic beverages, marijuana, tobacco and tobacco related items, cameras, video, and audio recording equipment and electronic devices, including but not limited to cellular telephones, pagers, BlackBerries, radios, tape recorders, etc.
8. Medication: Only prescribed medication that is life-saving or life-sustaining, such as nitroglycerine pills, inhalers, oxygen, etc., shall be permitted. Medication shall be limited in quantity to no more than that required for the duration of the visit. Visitors must advise the staff at the visiting desk that they are in possession of such medication.
9. Infants: If the visitor has an infant child, the following items shall be permitted: four diapers, two jars of vacuum sealed baby food, two plastic bottles of milk or juice, one change of clothing, one baby blanket (maximum width and length not to exceed 48 inches), and one clear plastic bag of baby wipes. These items, except the baby blanket, must be stored in a single clear plastic container (i.e., gallon size zip-lock bag.) All items are subject to search.
10. Money: Visitors shall not give any money to an offender. All state correctional facilities utilize JPAY for offender money deposits. JPAY allows family members and friends to make a deposit to an offender’s account in a number of ways via U.S. mail, internet, telephone, kiosks at the correctional facility, and Moneygram locations.
11. Contact between offenders and visitors: Offenders who have contact visits may embrace (hug) and exchange a brief kiss, to indicate fondness, not a lingering kiss, with their visitor at beginning and end of the visit. During the visit, the only contact permitted is holding hands. Excessive displays of affection or sexual misconduct between offenders and visitors is strictly prohibited. Small children may be permitted to sit on the lap of the visitor or offender. Any improper contact between an offender and visitor shall be grounds for stopping the visit immediately. Some offenders are restricted to non-contact visits. In these cases, there shall be no physical contact or touching at all between the offender and the visitors. Restroom breaks may be authorized, however, visitors will be subject to the entire search process again.
12. Restrictions on visits with minors: Offenders who have a current or prior conviction for a sex crime involving a minor child family member, or who have a documented history of sex abuse with a minor child family member, are ineligible to visit with any minor child, including their own biological or step-child. Offenders who have a current or prior conviction for a sex crime involving a minor child who is not a family member are ineligible to visit with any minor child. The offenders affected by these restrictions have been informed of possible exceptions that may only be approved by the warden.
13. Generally prohibited: The giving or receiving of any item(s) to/from an offender without the prior approval of staff is prohibited. Violators are subject to arrest and criminal prosecution and suspension of visiting privileges. The only exception is that the visitor may purchase soft drinks, snacks or concessions in the visiting area and share them with the offender. The offender is not permitted to take anything out of the visiting area when the visit is finished, other than with approval as noted above.
14. Visiting hours: See Hours of Operation section for each individual facility on our locations page.
15. Public transportation: Some DPS&C facilities have public transportation available to the facility. Information is provided at the facility to the offender population if public transportation is available. There may be a cost for use of this transportation and the DPS&C does not endorse or claim any liability for the use of the transportation provider. The visitor may contact the offender they wish to visit to obtain specific information regarding any types of transportation that may be available to the facility where the offender is housed.
16. Directions: Driving directions may be found on the facility page the visitor wishes to visit.
17. Termination of visits: The warden of the facility or staff designated by the warden may terminate a visit at any time if they believe that ending the visit is in the best interest of the safety and security of the facility or the persons involved.
18. Other specific information provided by the offender or facility: Contact the offender you are visiting on the facility for other permissible items, special visit procedures, and availability of picnic visits.
Incarceration is difficult for prisoners, and also their families and friends. View our Informational Handbook for Friends & Families of People in Prison for basic information that affects you and your loved one.
The Department encourages positive communication between offenders and family members/friends. As such, DPS&C offers several avenues of communication for offenders assigned to state correctional facilities. Offenders may communicate via regular U.S. mail, secure telephones, and secure electronic communication (similar to email provided by JPAY). Family members may also send money to offenders in DPS&C custody.
Dept. Regulation No. B-08-001 allows for each offender to have an approved master list of up to twenty (20) telephone numbers for family, friends, and legal calls. An offender can update the list on a quarterly basis.
If an offender attempts to dial any telephone number not on his/her approved list from a state correctional facility, the call is automatically blocked. Individual telephone numbers can be blocked as well. Members of the public can contact the facility directly or the Office of Adult Services (225-342-9711) if they are receiving unwanted or harassing phone calls from offenders at state correctional facilities.
Offenders can only make collect calls and offender telephones are limited to out-going calls only. Calls are usually limited to 15 minutes. No one can make a call to an offender telephone.
When an offender makes a call, the called party is notified that it is a collect call from an offender at a state prison facility. The called party is given the option of accepting the call or refusing it by hanging up.
Telephone communication access is provided by an outside vendor, Securus Technologies. Securus’ Customer Service number is 1-800-844-6591 for individuals needing assistance with billing issues, problems receiving calls from offenders, receiving unwanted calls and/or requesting a block on future calls from an offender or offenders.
The Department allows offenders to call approved cell phone numbers under specific guidelines. The called party must set up an account with Securus and provide their primary residence information. Calls to prepaid cell phones are not allowed. The offender must have your cell phone number on his/her approved phone list.
The Department offers electronic communication for staying in touch as well. JPay provides an email service that is usually faster than regular mail and appropriate photographs can be attached to the emails. This service is all done through a secure connection, so offenders never actually have access to the internet.
Visit JPay for more information.
Please note that all media inquiries regarding DPS&C offenders (including interview requests) should be directed to Communications Director Ken Pastorick at (225) 219-0499. Media may not circumvent Department policies regarding contact with offenders. Media may not be placed on offender telephone lists, communicate with offenders via electronic communication, or send money to offenders. Failure by a news media representative to comply with Departmental policy constitutes grounds for denying the representative and/or the representative’s agency access to facilities and interviews for a 12-month period.
The Canteen Package Program gives family and friends an opportunity to order pre-approved food and hygiene products and personal property items for their loved ones incarcerated in state institutions. Click below to learn more and order.Order Inmate Package
Family and friends can send funds to offenders in the following ways:
Family and friends may continue to send money orders via mail. There is no charge for sending money orders via mail. JPay requires a JPay deposit slip to accompany the money order. This deposit is mailed to JPay’s Miami, Florida address. This means that mail time to Florida is probably longer than to a DPS&C facility and that should be taken into account when mailing funds.
Also, there is a two-day processing time for JPay to put the funds into the DPS&C account. Then, there is a two-day processing time allowance for getting funds into the offender’s account. The maximum amount that can be sent via mail is $999.99. Deposits of $500 or greater are subject to investigation.
Walk-up Locations for MoneyGram
MoneyGram is located in Walmart and CVS Pharmacy locations. It is also available in other places that display the MoneyGram logo. MoneyGram provides a service for transmitting funds from one point to another using electronic means.
Family and friends provide the MoneyGram office with cash only, along with the offender’s information and MoneyGram will electronically submit the payment to the receiving company/destination for a fee.
MoneyGram is transmitted electronically so it is faster than money orders. There is a 2-day turnaround on funds being placed into the offender’s account. The maximum amount that can be sent via MoneyGram is $4,999.99. Deposits of $500 or greater are subject to investigation.
Family and friends may go online to www.JPay.com and send funds using only Visa and MasterCard credit/debit cards. There are fees associated with the internet transactions.
Amount Sending Online Fees:
$ 0.00 – $ 20.00: $ 3.50
$ 20.01 – $100.00: $ 6.50
$100.01 – $200.00: $ 8.50
$200.01 – $300.00: $10.50
There is a 2-day turnaround on funds being placed into the offender’s account. The daily cut-off time to submit a payment is 10 p.m. CST. The maximum amount that can be sent via Internet is $300.00.
Family and friends may call 1-800-574-5729 and transfer funds using only Visa and MasterCard credit/debit cards. There are fees associated with telephone transactions.
Amount Sending Phone Fees:
$ 0.00 – $ 20.00: $ 4.50
$ 20.01 – $100.00: $ 7.50
$100.01 – $200.00: $ 9.50
$200.01 – $300.00: $11.50
There is a 2-day turnaround on funds being placed into the offender’s account. The daily cut-off time to submit a payment is 10 p.m. CST. The maximum amount that can be sent via telephone is $300.00.
Kiosks are located in all state correctional facility visiting areas. Family and friends can provide funds to the offenders by credit/debit card or cash.
There is a 2-day turnaround on funds being placed into the offender’s account. Fees will apply for credit or debit card transactions (same as internet).
Cash deposited in Lobby Kiosks have a per transaction fee of $4.00 for deposits from $.01 to $500.00. Deposits of $500 or greater are subject to investigation. All deposits are still subject to the rules and regulations promulgated by Department Regulation B-09-003 Offender Banking. Regardless of which method of payment family and friends are using to transmit deposits to offenders, all deposits totaling $500 or greater will continue to be investigated and will delay funds being available to the offender until the investigation is completed.
The Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections — Corrections Services has a zero-tolerance policy regarding sexual violence and sexual misconduct involving staff. If you have information or believe an offender under custody of this Department has been subjected to conduct of this nature, please notify the warden’s office where the offender is assigned or the Probation and Parole District Office where the offender reports if he or she is under supervision.
Click here for the Department’s PREA policy.
The annual reports posted below are reviewed and approved by the DPS&C Secretary.
PREA audits for individual state correctional facilities are available upon request. Please follow the guidelines for making a public records request listed here.
The set-up of the Department can be confusing to many people. Constitutionally, it is one Department. Practically, the Department is divided into three areas:
1. Corrections Services oversees the assignment and care of adult offenders, including those under Probation and/or Parole supervision.
2. Public Safety Services is comprised of Louisiana State Police, the Office of Motor Vehicles, the State Fire Marshal’s Office and the Highway Safety Commission.
3. Office of Juvenile Justice is responsible for juvenile offenders.
Each entity reports directly to the Governor. The Secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections oversees Corrections Services.
At present, there are more than 36,000 offenders serving time for state felonies. Louisiana simply doesn’t have the capacity to house all of these offenders in state correctional facilities. Capacity at state facilities is just under 19,000. Therefore, the state relies upon parish and private facilities throughout Louisiana to house and care for offenders. The state reimburses these entities for housing offenders.
As part of the orientation process, offenders are notified of the rules and procedures that govern them while incarcerated. Disciplinary Rules and Procedures for Adult Offenders is also known as the Offender Rulebook and offenders have access to the rulebook at all state correctional facilities, as well as at local level parish and private jails where state offenders may be assigned. As such, when offenders have questions or concerns, they should refer to the Offender Rulebook for guidance and proper procedure in dealing with their concerns.
We encourage families to understand that part of the rehabilitation process for the offender while incarcerated is learning to accept responsibility for oneself and following the rules and procedures for obtaining information or addressing grievances about situations that affect him or her. Any correctional officer or the offender’s classification officer will be able to assist them should they need help understanding appropriate procedure. As such, inquiries should be initiated by the offender through the appropriate staff member where he/she is assigned and not through a family member.
Offenders are first encouraged to speak with staff if they have an issue of concern or need. However, if for some reason communicating with a staff member is not helpful, they are asked to put their concerns in writing and submit the letter to appropriate staff. Lastly, if these mechanisms do not answer their question or address their grievance, they may submit the issue through the Administrative Remedy Procedure (ARP).
The Department and all local jails housing state offenders have established Administrative Remedy Procedures (ARP) through which an offender may, in writing, request a formal review of a complaint related to any aspect of his/her incarceration. Such complaints include actions pertaining to conditions of confinement, personal injuries, medical malpractice, time computations, or challenges to rules, regulations, policies, or statutes. Through this procedure, offenders shall receive reasonable responses and, where appropriate, meaningful remedies.
Offenders are assigned to facilities based on custody classification, space availability, level of care designations (medical and/or mental health), and many other contributing factors. While DPS&C would like to make assignments with only geographical considerations in mind, it is not possible to do this based on the demand for beds in various areas of the state. As such, offenders are placed in locations that best meet their needs and the space needs of the Department. Written transfer requests should be initiated by the offender to the Warden of the facility at which he/she is assigned. The request should include specific explanations for the transfer. When offenders are moved into state operated facilities, they are usually first processed through the Adult Reception and Diagnostic Center (ARDC) at Elayn Hunt Correctional Center (for males) or the Louisiana Correctional Center for Women (for females) before being assigned to a permanent location. Headquarters does not get involved in specific transfer requests, as assignments are coordinated through the appropriate classification process at the assigning facility or local jail.
If an offender’s release date has been calculated, you can contact the Department’s automated system at (225) 383-4580 with the offender’s name and either his/her date of birth or DPS&C number to find out his/her release date, facility or P&P District Office to which he/she is assigned and contact information for those locations. If there is no date available on this system, the time calculation has not been completed yet and callers are encouraged to call again later. This system is automatically updated and will have the information as soon as it is available. If a person has recently been sentenced to DPS&C custody, the Department has to receive official paperwork from the sentencing court in order to calculate the offender’s release date. For additional information on time computation related issues, you can call our automated system at (225) 342-0799.
Every offender is sent a copy of his or her Master Prison Record document reflecting the calculation of their sentence when the calculation is complete. If there are questions about time computation, offenders housed in state facilities should write the Records Office at his/her assigned facility. For offenders housed in local facilities, he/she is advised they may submit his/her questions in writing following the Administrative Remedy Process. While offenders often ask family members or friends to contact the Office of Adult Services on their behalf about time computation questions, the offender should be encouraged to follow appropriate procedures to ensure that staff has the information and time needed to respond to his or her concerns.
Offenders who participate in Certified Treatment Rehabilitation Programs can write the program coordinator if he/she has questions about their eligibility for program credits. Credits for program completion can take up to 90 days, though they are usually awarded within a few weeks. They are prioritized based on the offender’s discharge date. Offenders who do not agree with credits given for any particular program may file a grievance under the Administrative Remedy Procedure as noted in Time Computation Section.
Offenders may request to participate in programs through Classification in state facilities and through program coordinators at the local facilities. Requests should be submitted in writing to the appropriate person by the offender. Staff in state facilities and/or program coordinators at local facilities may then enroll eligible and suitable offenders in programs based upon identified need and other suitability factors.
An offender’s work release eligibility date is noted on the Master Prison Record as “WRE.” The Office of Adult Services will automatically evaluate an offender’s eligibility for this program when he or she becomes eligible. If an offender has questions about his/her eligibility for the Transitional Work Program, he/she should write the Records Office at the facility where they are assigned. Unless precluded by law or Department regulation, in general offenders are eligible for the Transitional Work Program up to four years prior to their discharge date. There are some instances in which an offender’s eligibility is limited to the 6 months or 12 months of his or her incarceration, based on his offense and time served. Staff will be able to assist the offender in understanding when he or she will be eligible for Transitional Work Program participation.
Eligibility does not ensure placement in the Transition Work Program as there are usually more offenders eligible than there are jobs available. The Department makes every effort to place eligible offenders in the program, although it may not be for the entire period of their eligibility.
All offenders should only have access to telephone services through the provided phone system at the facility where they are assigned. Each offender at state operated correctional facilities is limited to having up to 20 approved numbers on his/her master telephone list. This includes all family, personal and legal contacts. Changes to the offender’s master telephone list can be made on a quarterly basis and is directed by the administration of the facility. To set up billing accounts for phone service or if there are problems receiving calls, family members may contact 1-800-844-6591 for telephone related inquiries. Offender telephone services are currently provided by Securus Technologies. The staff at this number and website will not be able to assist in approval of contact lists.
Offenders housed in local level facilities must utilize the phone systems that are set up in those facilities. Information on how to use the system can be obtained from the staff at the assigned facility by the offender.
In no instance is an offender allowed to possess or utilize a cellular telephone while incarcerated. Family and friends are warned not to send or bring cellular telephones to offenders and doing so will result in prosecution for introduction of contraband into a correctional facility and may be subject to a fine up to $2,000 and up to five years in prison.
Offenders who have a current or prior conviction for a sex crime involving a minor child family member, or who have a documented history of sex abuse with a minor child family member, are ineligible to visit with any minor child, including their own biological or step-child.
Offenders who have a current or prior conviction for a sex crime involving a minor child who is not a family member are ineligible to visit with any minor child. However, at the warden’s discretion, such offenders may be authorized to visit with their own biological child. The legal guardian shall submit a written request and shall accompany the minor child during the visit. If approved by the warden, the visit may be contact or non-contact at the warden’s discretion.
The warden may consider special visits for offenders who have successfully completed or are participating satisfactorily in sex offender treatment when the legal guardian has submitted a written request and accompanies the minor child during the visit.
The legal guardian may be permitted to name another individual (other than the legal guardian) who is on the offender’s visiting list to accompany the minor child for a visit. The legal guardian shall provide a written, notarized statement authorizing a specific individual to accompany the minor child.
Offenders are put on notice about how the disciplinary process works while incarcerated and the procedures are outlined in the rulebook. They are also advised of their right to appeal at the time of a disciplinary hearing and the appeal must be submitted to the facility at which the hearing occurred. Any issues regarding disciplinary matters should be handled through these procedures. An offender who needs help understanding these procedures may ask staff at the facility where he or she is housed for assistance.
Upon intake into a state facility, offenders are provided information in writing about the Department’s rules for handling of offender mail, utilizing the “Notification of Mail Handling” form. Offenders are not allowed to receive packages, publications, greeting cards, or post cards from their families. Offenders may only receive packages through Union Supply Direct, who is the approved package vendor for the Department. Family, friends and offenders may purchase packages. Please visit Union Supply’s website for more information regarding ordering periods.
However, family and friends are allowed to send correspondence (letters), which must be addressed to the facility to which the offender is housed and must include the offenders name and DPS&C number on the envelope. In addition, do not send cash or stamps through the mail or photographs that have a hardback. These particular items will be rejected and cash will be confiscated.
Offenders can receive money in the following ways:
Details on sending offenders money can be found here.
Funds cannot be sent to offenders from other offenders or the families of other offenders without prior approval of the Warden. Funds cannot be sent to offenders from ex-offenders or their families, or employees and their families
If an offender has questions about their financial account, they are encouraged to ask staff or write a letter to Inmate Banking where they are assigned and a written response will be provided explaining the finding of their account review. Offender families will not be given information relative to offender bank accounts.
Due to confidentiality, release of medical/mental health information is strictly governed by regulation. If you are inquiring about a specific offender and are not authorized by regulation to access this information, appropriate release of information forms must be on file and then only authorized staff members may discuss this information with you. In these cases, you should contact the facility where the offender is housed. Please be aware that even in instances where one is authorized to access this information, only general information will be shared over the phone.
Offenders are oriented on how to access the medical staff 24/7 at the facility where he or she is housed through established sick call procedures. In serious medical situations, any staff member will assist an offender in obtaining medical treatment. Medical staff will make a determination about his/her treatment.
Serious concerns of abuse or mistreatment that puts an offender in immediate danger, should be directed to the warden of the facility where the offender is housed.
Under Louisiana law, particularly the provisions of R.S. 15:574.12, the records of offenders (past, present or future), in the custody of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services is confidential and cannot be disclosed, directly or indirectly, to anyone. This is not to say that some information, in the hands of another state agency or subdivision of the state, is not available. However, pursuant to state law, while held by this Department, that information is confidential. Consequently, we are unable to accommodate any request for any kind of data sharing on any terms.
The only way to seek restoration of firearm rights is to apply for a pardon with restoration of firearms rights. More information on clemency can be found the Louisiana Board of Pardons and Parole page.
In Louisiana, the right to vote is automatically restored upon completion of your sentence of imprisonment, probation, or parole. Once an offender has completed a sentence of imprisonment or supervision, they will receive documentation from the facility where they were incarcerated or from the probation officer stating that they have completed the sentence (if this document is lost, an offender will need to contact the P&P District Office where they were supervised or the Clerk of Courts Office). They will take this documentation to the Registrar of Voters’ Office with a completed voter registration form, where their name will be restored to the voting rolls.
If convicted before the current state constitution took effect, which was January 1, 1975, an offender must apply for and receive a pardon from the governor to regain your right to vote.
Voters must register to vote at least 30 days prior to an election. If a voter registration application is mailed to the elections office, it must be postmarked at least 30 days prior to the election in which the voter intends to vote.